Neil is on the committee of the Freelance Woodwind Benefit Society - a not-for-profit charitable organisation for freelance professional woodwind players. He ran the organisation from 2008 - 2016, before handing it on to Ben Woodgate. The FWBS helps members financially if they are unable to work due to accident or illness, through a co-operative insurance scheme. Established in 1978, members include most 

of the UK’s leading woodwind players. 


FWBS. Supporting professional woodwind players

The Apollo Saxophone Orchestra is made up of players from London, Scotland and Berlin as well as the North of England. Its inaugural project was a CD of 'leading lady of British jazz' Barbara Thompson’s music for 12-piece saxophone ensemble, including works composed specifically for the ensemble, recorded in Manchester in 2012. The CD was released later that year and launched at a performance by the full 12-piece Apollo Saxophone Orchestra at the World Saxophone Congress, which also featured a video broadcast of a shorter version of the BBC documentary about Barbara and her battle with Parkinson's disease. ASO members: Rob Buckland, Meriel Price, Sally McTaggart, Carl RavenFiona Asbury, Ruth Bourne, Jim Fieldhouse, Michael Brogan, Huw Wiggin, Neil Crossley, Chrisoph Enzel, Andy Scott.

Click here to read The Guardian's album review.

The World Tenor Saxophone Consortium was formed in 2004 to commission a new work from leading British composer Graham Fitkin. The WTSC comprises twelve saxophonists who are based in locations across Europe and as far afield as Japan. All members of the Consortium contributed equally to the commission fee, and gave simultaneous premieres worldwide of the new work in 2005. The commissioned piece was called 'Passing' for tenor saxophone and CD. According to the composer, "The title refers to the passing of time, the passing of life..., passing in a slow motion sort of way too".

The WTSC is committed to commissioning and performing new music for the tenor saxophone. Members are: Yasushi Arai, Antonio Cafolla, Neil Crossley, Tony Davis, Amy Dickson, Christoph Enzel, Lara James, Jenny Lyons, Steven Mauk, Federico Mondelci, Leonie Schaller and Andy Scott.